Columbus, Harris County, and Fort Benning
Georgia DUI law can be complex so it is wise to hire a skilled DUI attorney familiar with Columbus, Georgia, Fort Benning, and the other courts in our area. Columbus, Georgia, based DUI attorney Mark Post has years of experience handling DUI cases and he can help you achieve the best result in your case.
In Georgia, one may be charged with DUI less safe or DUI greater than .08 if one is under the influence of alcohol. The former is based on being under the influence of alcohol to the extent you are a less safe driver. The latter is based upon a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) greater than .08 g/dL which by definition (per se) causes you to be legally considered DUI. Although you may be charged with both types of DUI, you may only be convicted for one DUI. Additionally, you may be charged with DUI based on using some illegal drug or a prescribed medication either alone or with alcohol.
A first DUI conviction carries a maximum sentence of 12 months in jail and a $1000.00 fine. Minimum sentences for a first DUI require 12 months of probation minus any jail time; 24 hours in jail; a $300.00 fine; 40 hours community service; completion of a DUI Alcohol or Drug Use Risk Reduction Program (commonly called “DUI school”) within 120 days following conviction; and a “clinical evaluation” as defined by law. One may be required to complete substance abuse treatment if the clinical evaluation recommends such treatment.
In addition, someone charged with DUI generally faces an administrative driver’s license suspension in addition to the criminal DUI case. If you have been arrested for DUI, DO NOT DELAY seeing an attorney, because you have limited time from your arrest to file an appeal of the suspension of your driver’s license with DDS or to install an ignition interlock device. Otherwise, your license will be suspended.
Of course, potential and minimum penalties become more severe when one is arrested for another DUI or if someone is injured by a DUI driver.